Rules, Rules. Rules!


Jordan Spieth and Brad Gregory, a rules official, spoke after Spieth hit his ball into a puddle on the seventh hole. Spieth was not penalized. Credit Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images.  Image by NY Times.  

Today illustrated a point–as simple in some ways as golf is, an incident today involving a TOP golfer, shows just how tough golf is.  Nothing new to any of you.  But just goes to show you!


As the NY Times said in ‘Rules Delay at P.G.A. Championship Sinks Sport Into Quagmire Yet Again‘:  ‘SPRINGFIELD, N.J. — Jordan Spieth was making a stirring, rousing run up the leaderboard Friday, finally bringing some sparkle and star power to a drowsy 2016 P.G.A. Championship, when golf’s pesky rule book once again elbowed its way into the competition‘. …

Without getting overly rules geek technical, the whole situation began with a wayward Spieth drive that ended up on a gravel-like path to the right of a stand of trees on the seventh hole, which was one of Spieth’s concluding holes because he began his round on the 10th tee. There were potholes in the cart path filled with rainwater from a morning storm.

Spieth could have chosen to take relief from the cart path, but he did not because it would have meant dropping his ball near the trees, which would have obstructed his shot toward the green, far to the left of the cart path.  Instead, he was entitled to take relief under a different rule pertaining to abnormal ground conditions‘.  Article continues at above link.

Speaking of great players.  More great results from Derek (hat tip Craig Kennedy at Facebook), ‘Barron staggers in but wins Lilac by four strokes‘.  ‘Derek Barron tapped in for bogey, his third over the last four holes, and made an arm motion like he was going to toss his ball into the hazard guarding the 18th green at the Fairways.


The Tacoma native wasn’t thrilled with his finishing stretch but it hardly mattered. Barron built a comfortable lead through 14 holes and cruised to the Lilac City Invitational title Sunday by four strokes over Kevin PomArleau and Shane Prante.

Barron, who started the day with a three-shot edge, closed with an even-par 72 for a four-round total of 19-under 269. He earned $8,000.’  Article continues at link.  Congratulations Derek.  We are VERY proud of him!

Call us at 253 472-6899 to see about meeting up with Derek, who is available selectively.

This entry was posted in Events, Golf, Media, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s